ANOTHER REVIEW?

I have been away from here for about three months now? That’s for sure a long time. I have been writing of course. Love poems and heart break poems almost in equal measure. Oh, my heart has loved and hurt for fictional and non-fictional characters alike.

I have grieved and rejoiced for people close to my heart and those not alike. I guess I underestimate how empathetic I am. I never knew Zahara’s death would cause me as much pain as well. And it for sure hurts that I cannot listen to her songs without an echoing pain in her voice. Songs which have steered my heart’s healing in times of grief now filled with her pain, hurt, cry… and my heart still struggles to find solace since Tush was glorified.

Despite this, I have still loved 2023. It’s had a lot of wins and joys. Crowning them was my sister’s graduation and licensing. That’s a joy weighing heavy on my heart. It’s almost uncontainable. I’m proud of that girl, I can’t explain it. I am super happy for her as well.

I have ‘peopled’ and ‘solituded’, both indoors and outdoors without a balance. There are weekends I have barely set my foot out of my door and those that have left my house longing for me. I have cringed in solitude in the company of people and been loud in their company too. That’s been fulfilling but very exhausting too. I hope to rest from the loudness of 2023 in 2024 now that I’ve cross over, thanks to God.

I have travelled too. Traversing more counties than I can count but haven’t been to the Northern Rift this year. The Coastals probably have my scent infused somewhere in their environs. How lucky for them. I wished to spend the holidays in Kisumu with my grandmother but that was unfortunately not possible. I hope to get there in the first quarter of the year.

I have loved being in motion though. Enough times, actually, almost all times as a passenger princess on the back left with one soulful song on repeat, eyes glued to the trees, flowers and skies outside and mind finding rhythm, momentum, and peace in the curated motion. My mind is most reflective at such times and heart more sensitive to my spirit. These times have topped my favourite moments in the year 2023.

I have invested quite a lot in writing and the arts this year and I have loved spending time with artists and fellow Public Relations professionals. I am not sure the same will be the case in 2024 but one thing for sure is that I will create. In quiet and peace. And I will write too. A lot. I want to at least promise myself this.

Oh! How I have enjoyed recherché eclectic music this year. Cheche Sessions should keep doing what they are doing because… And I have loved being immersed in poetry and the poets’ processes. It’s been beautiful. To my poet friends, you are doing poetry so much good. I look forward to a day poetry will be bigger in this country and your efforts to the process will be counted worthwhile.

I have tried my hands and feet at dancing kizomba and salsa too. It’s not been easy but I am allowing myself a little more grace hoping not to drop it. I can be very patient but I don’t have much grace and I will need it to forge on.

Punchline comedy has on Wednesday evenings come through to ensure that I had a good laugh at least almost every week and this I’m for sure carrying forward to 2024. See you at Two grapes Wine and friends and halla at me when you tag along.

I love that it has been possible to go on vacation this year. I didn’t take any worthwhile photos unfortunately. I promise to take some if I’m lucky to take one solo in 2024. And I pray that it’ll be worth the while.

I close this one happy considering that in 2023, I can tick positive in all the aspects of growth I need to focus on for wholesome living. Knowing that I faced all the fears I targeted to except for a solo travel. I purpose to conquer it in 2024 and take on summiting as a challenge for the year. I also hope to read books to the last word. I struggle with that except for anthologies.
Have a happy one 😊

4 thoughts on “ANOTHER REVIEW?”

Leave a comment